Top Tips

What’s my Aesthetic? Mr Kate reveal my Unique Aesthetic Blend

After spending a year in an off white bedroom I decided to finally paint it. When I first moved in I collected some samples for mauve tone paints, they were a mixture of pinks, purples and greys. 12 months later, my style has developed a little, but not too much from my original vibe. I went for Colours Premium soft sheen satin in Firedbrick from B&Q. After rearranging the furniture in my bedroom, I realised that I have a very mixed aesthetic, and asked myself what my aesthetic blend would be if I could break it all down.

I found Mr Kate on Youtube a few years ago, I watched their OMG We Bought a House series and really liked the interior spaces that they created. They have an online quiz that they say will easily and visually identify your current design blend of tastes.  I took the quiz and below is a breakdown of my results.

30% Farmhouse/Beachy

This was immediately a shock, I would definitely not think to describe my aesthetic as Farmhouse or Beachy but when I read the description I could see exactly how and where in my home I appreciated this style. You love homey, rustic vibes, this is true, I love a wood burner and textural signs of comfort, it makes me feel cosy and warm. Farmhouse/Beachy vibes are usually dependent on the architecture of a home – think wood beams, ship-lap and hardwood floor. I enjoy emphasising wood furniture, such as a big wooden dining room table, I also really miss the ceiling beams in my old cottage.

30% Industrial

I expected the industrial vibes to come up in my results, thick exposed brick and shelving made out of metal, is something that my home lacks but I know I love. I do have touches of copper in most rooms and I have filament bulbs in my bedside tables lights.

10% Quirky/Whimsical

This was another style that I expected to pop up in my results and the percentage seems pretty accurate too. You could tend towards more Whimsical vibes like branches and flowers with crystals and watercolour paintings. I relate with all of these things mentioned, I translate this trend through styling shelves or creating a space that can tell a cohesive story.

10% Vintage Eclectic

I would view this as similar to Industrial but more Mid-Century. You are not ashamed to love a lot of different types of things and you relish the score of a thrift store or side-of-the-road find. One of my favourite things to do is browse charity shops, recycling centres and online buyers-sellers websites. You can have a ‘more is’ maximalist perspective and layer a bunch of cool, vintage items. Remember that anything that is 20 years or older is Vintage and by mixing all those eras, you’re achieving the Eclectic. I enjoy knowing that I can continue to collect things that will add to my layered story.

10% Modern/Dramatic

This result was also a surprise, I would associate Modern and Dramatic with Glam, and I am definitely not a Glam person. You gravitate towards fabrics and textures that are solid in print but sexy to feel. I can just about relate to this, I like blankets and throws to be a simple solid colour, but in exchange all of my rugs have big, bold patterns. Metals are used a lot in Modern/Dramatic spaces, especially brushed nickel and chrome, but a striking gold brush stroke isn’t out the question either. I do enjoy mixed metals, but in more of an Industrial manner than the clean chrome or minimalist gold art. However, I love a bright yellow accent and this is a typical Modern/Dramatic colour.

10% Bohemian

You tend towards the Asian aesthetic of carved wood and embroidered fabrics. I can recognise how I have an Asian inspired style, I have small touches in each room, such as a carved elephant and a mixture of interesting fabrics. Oak and Walnut, wicker or rattan items and Turkish or Persian rugs in a mix of red and gold tones. Plants are your very best friend to getting a Bohemian vibe. I am currently obsessed with house plants, I don’t know what I love more – picking the plant or the pot!

I would like to create a short blog series that reviews each room in my house identifying the components that make up my aesthetic blend. The first room I’m going to show you is my bedroom and a blog post will be up soon – with photos.

If you’re interested in finding out what you’re aesthetic is, you can visit Mr Kate and take their simple survey now! Alternatively you can check our their YouTube channel.

Up & Recycle xx

*All images have been found on Pinterest.

Leave a comment